Movie Review Blog

I feel like I’m just full of promoting things lately. Last week I promoted Samuel “Sam” Tsui, one of my favorite singers. This week I’m promoting… well I’m promoting myself, but not via my books. This blog is for me to speak on the idea of creativity and my own book attempts, but I have another blog where I am known by another name.

On that blog I am known as Cinespector – Media Checker.

That link takes you to the Review List page, where you can see any review I’ve done to date.

I started the blog early this year and hope to fill it up with many more films – not just new ones. As an avid movie watcher, I thought it was time I added my voice to the many critics out on the internet. I found myself disagreeing with most of them on how good movies were and thus wanted to correct them.

I am a friendly voice; a viewer who steps into every movie with an optimistic mindset and waits to be impressed. I am a hopeless romantic, so I also go into every movie prepared to completely accept whatever relationship happens on-screen whether it be romantic, friendly, brotherly, or enemy.

I judge movies based mostly on acting skill, cinematography,  plot, music, pacing and character development. I like movies to be believable, but not in a ‘this can happen in real life’ sort of believable. I mean believable as far as the movie’s world and parameters set. I don’t care if aliens are feeding humans pills to create fat babies or vikings fight dragons, or Mars has life and culture and ships that fly on air. If the movie makes me believe it, I accept it.

I try to be as unbiased as possible and give good, factual reasons for why I like or dislike a movie. I haven’t done Twilight, but if I were to do it I would not simply say ‘This movie sucks because the vampires sparkle and Bella’s a bitch.” I would say the movie gets a 3 on my 1-10 scale because the acting is stiff and emotionless, the characters are hard to empathize with, the pacing is too fast and sketchy, the music is average and sub-par-ly edited into the scenes, and the cinematography looks about one level above being shot as a home movie.  And while that may sound harsh, I would devote a section of the review to each element so I can fully develop my argument.

To date, I’ve rarely gone to a movie theater and left it disliking the movie. I just tend to know what movies I’ll enjoy and which I won’t. For instance, I loved The Three Musketeers and The Avengers, but I wont even consider going to see The Dictator or Chernobyl Diaries. I’m not in for scary movies or… almost any Sacha Baron Cohen movie.

I’m working to build up the list of movies I’ve reviewed at the moment. I go see new movies and try to get my reviews of them up as soon as I can to be useful, but then I try to also write reviews for older movies I watch. Usually it is other movies my boyfriend or friends bring over to have me watch. However, I also have an extensive list of movies I can start working through to give my opinions on when I have a chance – and I’m always open to requests!

In the future, I hope to also review tv shows or episodes. I’ll analyze specific characters and relationships if someone requests that. I’m open to suggestions, and I hope to expand my readers enough to receive not only comments but also questions. There are always going to be aspects of a movie I didn’t consider or notice or comment on, and feedback will be how I try to grow as a reviewer in the future.

So if you have a chance, and you’re interested, check out my movie review blog over at Cinespector.Wordpress.Com.

Ciao Tutti!

RM

3 responses to “Movie Review Blog

  1. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.

    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  2. I added my email to the about page. Thanks for pointing out I didn’t have it up anywhere. I look forward to your suggestions.

  3. Thanks for finally writing about >Movie Review Blog | Ultra Special Scribbles
    <Loved it!

Leave Your Thoughts

