The Class Bell Rings

Good morning, Class!

Whoa. I think I just scared myself a little.

The first week of classes is over, at least where I am, so I thought it would be a good idea to base this post on school. I have five courses this semester so I can graduate this May. Based on the first day of classes so far, I’m going to simply die.

My first class involves a lot of reading and a lot of writing, both in class and for papers. My second class involves a LOT of reading (it’s a Shakespeare course) and one majorly important research paper. My third class involves a LOT of reading and a lot of writing. My fourth and fifth classes, you guessed it, involve a lot of reading and writing. I think this semester is going to involve a lot of me sitting in my room reading school novels, plays, poems, and articles.

You know what? Don’t call me. I’ll call you… when I get free time.

There is always a bright side, of course. My teachers seem very friendly, and my work place allows me time to work on school papers or read, and I never work past 6 pm. A friend of mine at work is also in my Shakespeare class, so we can discuss that together at work as well. I know at least one person in each class from a previous class, and they all seem like genuinely interesting classes.

My Shakespeare Studies professor hails from Europe. His accent took me the whole class to decide on. At first I thought he was French, but then he was British. So I’ve come to the conclusion, with the second opinion of a friend, that he is most definitely French British. Brilliant, I know.

I have a teacher who seems very mothering and caring, and another who seems very down to earth and easy to talk to. My Chaucer professor is extremely gay, extremely funny, and extremely excited to teach this course “because you can say Shakespeare is the best. You can say Jane Austen is the best. You can even say, no, Harry Potter and J.K. Rowling are the best… and you’d have a point… you would… but you be wrong, because there’s Chaucer. Chaucer is the best.”

In fact the only teach I’m worry about is my history department professor. Everyone else hails from the English department. My history dept professor is much more straight forward and not very cuddly. She tried well enough, but I still felt like a no-name face in the crowd during this first week. And what’s worst? She wants our papers in Chicago style.

What does that even mean?

Anyway, because of all this reading and writing, I’ll be busy beyond belief, but I’ll do my best to keep with my New Year resolution to keep the blog updated regularly. Wish me luck! And good luck to everyone in their new courses (or old courses. However your school systems work).

Also, it’s Friday the 13th, according to my calendar. Be safe out there, people – especially if you’re superstitious.

Ciao Tutti!

RM

2 responses to “The Class Bell Rings

  1. Best o’ luck with your projected workload. Try to make sure you get enough sleep! …And since I’m appartently being your mother, today, don’t forget to dress warmly and stuff. X)

Leave Your Thoughts

