In the Words of Steve Jobs – as read by Me

I was once told that no one sits down, crams out a story, rereads it, and with minimal edits decides it’s done. The professor who said this told me that the only people who can do that are people who are so fluent in the art that it takes very little to make something good. No offense to that teacher, but I call shenanigans.

When I go about beginning to write, I sit down and open a document. I write down the general idea of what I’m writing, sometimes as a summary. I then list anything I want to put into that story or poem or whatever. I then open a separate document and begin to write, and from there I just continue to write until I’m either stopped by the world or I run out of ideas to go on. I’ll leave, go live life, and when I come back I’ve either had a new idea or I power write through the uncertainty. Eventually I get momentum back up, and before I know it, I’m done.

My sister is my first source editor. She reads anything and everything I write and lets me know if she doesn’t understand something. She usually doesn’t have much to say. Then she praises me, and I smile. Then I’ll either post it online or save it away somewhere for when I might be able to use it later.

Now I’m not trying to brag. I’m not perfect or anything. I’m just trying to say that with practice, and not necessarily a lot of it, good things can come out of nowhere and get written down with very little wrong with them. Everyone is going to need an editor – for that time when your brain was moving too fast for your computer and you skipped a word, used the wrong ‘its’, or accidentally said ‘mouth’ instead of ‘mother’ for no discernible reason. But when you’re writing what you know and what you love, writing well isn’t as difficult as my teachers keep telling me it is.

In the words of the late Steve Jobs,

Creativity is just connecting things. When you ask creative people how they did something, they feel a little guilty because they didn’t really do it, they just saw something. It seemed obvious to them after a while.

When you’re truly inspired, no teacher comment on how it will need to be fixed later will stop you. It’s going to happen and it’s going to happen right the first time, because sometimes there is no next time. So do what inspires you and listen to Steve Jobs.

Ciao tutti!

RM

4 responses to “In the Words of Steve Jobs – as read by Me

  1. Amen!!! It gets so frustrating to hear advice that amounts to, “If you haven’t ripped through at least five drafts, this story isn’t any good yet.”

    Every writer is different, so why expect them all to adhere to identical processes? If it takes you five drafts, nothing wrong with that. If you can make it close to semi-perfect in the first write-through, more power to ya! If you can make it absolutely perfect the first time around… *jealousness*.

    So long as you maintain a high standard for the finished product, get there by any route you want.

    • Haha, nothing is ever perfect the first time. It can just be semi-perfect. But I completely agree – obviously. lol. Thanks for always reading. I think you’re still my only reader 🙂

  2. This is the best advice I have heard. I just had to share it on my facebook. Thanks so much you really motivate me and I just love your stories.

Leave Your Thoughts

