In the Words of Karen Witemeyer

Before I begin, let me be clear: This is not just for writers. The subject may be books, but that is obviously what I’d find as an author. Still, the topic is the same even if you alter the subject. No matter your craft, this is good advice for when you start to hit the public scene. I found this through my Twitter contacts, specifically through the amazing Rachelle Gardner.

“Good reviews can send your spirit soaring, and bad reviews can send you plummeting into a pool of doubt and insecurity. You must learn to find balance. Some wise authors I know choose not to read reviews at all. I have to admit that I can’t seem to resist the lure. I check my reviews on Amazon every day and eagerly await news from my publisher about trade reviews. Publisher’s Weekly tends to give me great write-ups, yet the ones from Romantic Times are usually a bit lackluster. The inconsistency can be frustrating, but I constantly remind myself that reviews are subjective. That fact became very evident when my publisher decided to offer my debut novel as a free e-book download in May. I was pleasantly surprised by all the new 4 and 5 star reviews, but then there were the 1 star reviews that came with them. Ick.

  • Not everyone will love your book, so gird your loins in advance.
  • Enjoy the pleasure of positive reviews, but don’t let them puff you up with pride. ‘When pride comes, then comes disgrace, but with humility comes wisdom. ~Proverbs 11:2′
  • Learn what you can from a harsh review. Look for ways to improve your craft for future projects. However, don’t dwell on the sour words. They will destroy your confidence and steal your passion. Glean what you can, then walk away.”
To read the entirety of this article, follow this link to Surviving My First Year As A Published Author. Karen isn’t saying anything new when it comes to handling the criticism, but sometimes people word the advice in ways that break through for others. I felt the personal experience addition to this piece really gave it some credibility over the other people who just tell you to buff up against it all. In her article, which is undoubtedly aimed at only writers and authors (sorry everyone else), Karen also addresses how to handle the publishing and agent company editors when you’re only used to your own critique groups and your own deadlines.
Overall, I highly recommend taking the five minutes out of your day this will take to read. If you read a lot of articles on the subject, you may feel like you’re reading the same thing over again, but the way Karen words it may be just different enough to give you the new perspective. And if you haven’t read a lot of articles about handling editors, I hope you take it as well as I did. I’m storing this information away for eternal future use.
Ciao tutti,
RM
Leave Your Thoughts

