A Holiday Reminder for the Religious

With Christmas just around the corner, I thought now would be a good time to bring up religion. You see Christians running around during winter, claiming that Christmas is being forgotten, that no one knows what it truly means anymore. The issue I see with that idea is that Christmas decorations go up in stores before Halloween, some of the most prevalent decorations have angelic themes, if you drive around for lights you’re going to see manger scenes, and it’s impossible to listen to the radio without hearing songs about Jesus.

Christmas time is a special time. You will never hear more love or more hatred out of the Christian community. It should be entirely about Christ for them, about spreading love and beauty and knowledge, but it turns into a guilt fest more often than not. If there is one thing that gets through to Christian readers in this post, I hope it’s this: That LOVE is what should guide your every move, not just now in this season but always.

Personal story time!

Growing up, I was always different. I was a product of the new generation – governed by television shows from another country, video games from other countries, and books from all over the world.  I was a liberal mind before I knew what it meant.

My mother is the very best type of Christian you can find. She loves God and the bible and dislikes anyone talking bad about her religion. Her home has many decorations invoking the name of God and speaking of love. She majored in psychology and minored in world religions. She never tries to impose her beliefs on others, but is open to discuss her religion, or any other religion, to anyone who’s interested. She has taught me so much about acceptance and equality that I sometimes forget that the world isn’t full of people like her, who have such a simple and beautiful idea of how to treat others.

I grew up kind and loving and not wanting to hurt others. I wanted to spread excitement and joy and, for a time, my love of Jesus. I’ve touched on some reasons I stopped liking church in a recent post, so I won’t retell that story. I’ll just summarize.

Over the course of my life, I was taught to love others, to not judge them for their life choices, to accept people, and to forgive people seventy times seven times (Matthew 18:22 for that last one). But it’s hard to love your own people when you see them treat others harshly, especially during the holidays.

As I told a cousin recently, I am not bitter at Christians just for their treatment of the LGBT+ community. I am bitter for their treatment of others, but I am also bitter for their treatment of me – one of their own. After I was moved into the teen category of placement for youth programs, I never felt comfortable around people at church. I was picked on in middle school at church for my hair, my glasses, my twin sister, and my lack of athletic skill. Even when we moved and joined a new church that was said to be so loving and accepting, I didn’t find any comfort.

It was nearly impossible to have any type of conversation with any of the people I met there. If I wasn’t speaking only of Jesus, if I wasn’t praising my every waking moment of success to him, if I was talking about anything I had an interest in, I was given weird looks, pitying looks, and uncomfortable silence, as though they were debating what to do with me or waiting for me to turn the conversation around and focus only on God again.

I read novels that weren’t sold in Christian bookstores. I watched TV shows that were about fantasy lands and people. Never mind that other kids in the group were watching reality TV, at least theirs was ‘real’. I still didn’t play sports, and I didn’t play an instrument. How was I supposed to fit in, apparently, without these specific skills and interests? I wanted to go to a non-Christian school? Oh no. Poor thing. I watched movies in theaters and I have friends who aren’t Christians and don’t go to church. Scandalous.

Do the majority of Christians ever listen to themselves? You’re trying to build walls around a very limited interest set and then smush everyone inside them. This is not the way to gain new church members. This is not the way to show a love of Christ year round. If the true meaning of Christmas is being lost, the only ones you have to blame for it are yourselves and your behavior.

My friends who aren’t Christians know the Christian meaning of Christmas. I knew an atheist who knew the bible forwards and backwards. He knew the Christian meaning of Christmas. I love Christmas and I love sharing those feelings of giving, acceptance, forgiveness, and love. I love sharing them all year round, and this is the time of year where most people recognize the need to share them.

But it’s hard to stay positive when you find yourself surrounded by groups of religious people all claiming that no one understands and everyone is just faking it and how dare people try to exclude Jesus from their celebrations and…

Stop.

So someone celebrates different from you. So someone doesn’t celebrate at all. This does not make them evil. This does not make you holy. We are all on this Earth, suffering and struggling together. Spread love, not hate. Emulate the God (or gods) you believe in and accept others this holiday season.

If someone passes you on the street and says Merry Christmas, say thank you. If you see a sign that reads Happy Hanukkah, smile at it. If the song on the radio declares a bright Happy Holidays, sing along. Someone is wishing you well, and spitting on those wishes does not make you any better, or any happier, in the end.

Merry Christmas, everyone!

RM

2 responses to “A Holiday Reminder for the Religious

  1. I like this post because it’s very honest and relatable. I like your description of your Mom (makes me want to be more like her!), and I can relate to some of what you describe of factors leading to being disillusioned with church, church people, religion in general. Oh, it’s so difficult sometimes to separate what people do from my own view of God/Jesus. Anyhow, I do still consider myself a Christian, but I get very irritated by Christians who are all up in arms about this Christmas issue. You’re right — it’s not a loving mentality and not the way Jesus Himself would behave if he were on earth today. I still struggle a bit with church (which has been ongoing since my teens) — now it’s young adults who all play Ultimate Frisbee . . . :-) not I.

    • It’s a little sad thinking back, because I feel like I would have been a very good church going person if a few of the less pleasant experiences hadn’t occurred. But I like who I am, church or no church, and I hope you like yourself too. The great thing about any view of God is that He never changes, even if people do, so I also hope you’re able to keep your faith in Him even if you lose faith in humanity. Good luck this holiday season and going into the new year. ^_^ Thanks for commenting. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Leave Your Thoughts

